Social Sciences and Business Division

  • The Social Sciences and Business Division includes a diverse array of programs and courses in career areas such as hospitality, culinary arts, criminal justice, child care, human services, accounting and business. The division also includes transfer programs in psychology, sociology, economics, business administration, forensic science, law and teacher certification.

    Departments in the Social Sciences and Business Division

    The division has five departments, three collegian centers, and includes the Hillman Entrepreneurs Program, the Community Financial Center, and the Service-Learning Program.


    Collegian Centers

    Collegian Centers are academically focused student organizations. Collegian Centers provide a locus for students within a discipline where they can receive mentoring, advising, discipline specific activities and opportunities for internships and research. Each Center fosters a unique environment conducive to intellectual, academic and scholarly pursuits. There are three Collegian Centers within the Behavioral, Social and Business Studies Division.

    Hillman Entrepreneurs Program

    The Hillman Entrepreneurs Scholarship Program is a joint effort between Prince Georges Community College and the University of Maryland, College Park with the generous support and guidance of David Hillman, President and CEO of Southern Management Corporation. The program is designed to prepare promising entrepreneurs for their chosen careers. Participants complete a transfer program at Prince Georges Community College and a bachelors degree at University of Maryland College Park.

  • Division Dean
    Dr. Lorraine Bassette

  • Dr. Lorraine P. Bassette, Interim Dean


    Bladen Hall, Room 210


    (301) 546-0756


    (301) 583-5224

    Email us: